tahukah anda…??

…::just want to share information::…

kata-kata mutiara dan motivasi

Happiness is not a station to arrive at, but a manner of traveling. (Margaret Lee Runbeck)

Hatred does not cease by hatred, but only by love; this is the eternal rule. (Buddha)

He who has learning without imagination has feet but no wings. (Stanley Goldstein)

He who requires urging to do a noble act will never accomplish it. (Kahlil Gibran, 1883-1931)

He who walks in another’s tracks leaves no footprints. (Joan Brannon)

Heaven-born, the soul a heavenward course must hold; beyond the world she soars; the wise man, I affirm, can find no rest in that which perishes, nor will he lend his heart to aught that doth on time depend. (Michelangelo Buonarroti, 1474-1564)

Histories make men wise; poets, witty; the mathematics, subtle; natural philosophy, deep; moral, grave; logic and rhetoric, able to contend. (Francis Bacon, 1561-1626)

How anybody dresses is indicative of his self-concept. If students are dirty and ragged, it indicates they are not interested in tidying up their intellects either. (Samuel Ichiye Hayakawa, 1906-1992, Canadian-born American philologist, educator, legislator)

How do you feel about women’s rights? I like either side of them. (Julius Henry “Groucho” Marx, 1890-1977)

How do you know when you’re old? When you double your age and realize you’re not going to live that long. (Michael J. Leydon II)

How queer everything is to-day! And yesterday things went on just as usual. I wonder if I’ve been changed in the night? Let me think: was I the same when I got up this morning? I almost think I can remember feeling a little different. But if I’m not the same, the next question is, “Who in the world am I?” Ah, that’s the great puzzle! (Lewis Carroll, pen name of Charles Lutwidge Dodgson, 1832-1898)

Humility is to make a right estimate of oneself. (Charles Haddon Spurgeon, 1834-1892)

Humor is, I think, the subtlest and chanciest of literary forms. It is surely not accidental that there are a thousand novelists, essayists, poets, or journalists for each humorist. It is a long, long time between James Thurbers. (Leo C. Rosten)

I

I’m always there to tell people that their life is not that bad. I wish it was easy to follow that advice It is important to our friends to believe that we are unreservedly frank with them, and important to friendship that we are not. (Mignon McLaughlin)

I’m going to speak my mind because I have nothing to lose. (Samuel Ichiye Hayakawa, 1906-1992)

I’ve always thought that underpopulated countries in Africa are vastly underpolluted. (Lawrence Sumers, chief economist of the World Bank, explaining why we should export toxic wastes to Third World countries)

I’ve always tried to go a step past wherever people expected me to end up. (Beverly Sills)

I’ve dreamt in my life dreams that have stayed with me ever after, and changed my ideas: they’ve gone through and through me, like wine through water, and altered the color of my mind. (Emily Bronte)

I am a kind of paranoiac in reverse. I suspect people of plotting to make me happy. (Jerome David Salinger)

I am the undefined person on the undefined place in the undefined time. (Eriek_Sobieski)

I believe, with abiding conviction, that this people – nurtured by their deep faith, tutored by their hard lessons, moved by their high aspirations – have the will to meet the trials that these times impose. (Lyndon Baines Johnson, 1908-1973)

I came from a very intellectual neighborhood. When we played cowboys and Indians as kids, I had to be Gandhi. (Robert Frost, 1874-1963)

I can’t understand it. I can’t even understand the people who can understand it. (Queen Juliana)

I cannot help but wonder whether, by continuing and expanding the school lunch program, we aren’t witnessing, if not encouraging, the slow demise of yet another American tradition: the brown bag. … Perhaps we are beholding yet another break in the chain (Charles Mathias, Jr., US Senator)

I cannot keep from talking, even at the risk of being instructive. (Mark Twain, 1835-1910)

I despise all adjectives that try to describe people as liberal or conservative, rightist or leftist, as long as they stay in the useful part of the road. (Dwight D. Eisenhower, 1890-1969)

I died a mineral, and became a plant. I died a plant and rose an animal. I died an animal and I was man. Why should I fear? When was I less by dying? (Jalal-Uddin Rumi, 1207-1273)

I do the very best I know how – the very best I can; and I mean to keep doing so until the end. (Abraham Lincoln, 1809-1865)

I don’t believe that life is supposed to make you feel good, or to make you feel miserable either. Life is just supposed to make you feel. (Gloria Naylor)

I don’t generally like running. I believe in training by rising gently up and down from the bench. (Leroy “Satchel” Paige, 1906-1982)

I don’t give advice. I can’t tell anybody what to do. Instead I say this is what we know about this problem at this time. And here are the consequences of these actions. (Dr Joyce Brothers)

I find that we all get more legendary as time goes by. Legend means, basically, bullshit. (Joel Rosenberg)

I had ambition not only to go farther than any man had ever been before, but as far as it was possible for a man to go. (James R. Cook)

I have a very modulated way of dealing with my anger. I have always tried to understand the other person and invariably I’ve discovered that somebody who rubs you the wrong way has been rubbed the wrong way many times. (Fred McFeely Rogers, 1928-2003)

I have had a dream, past the wit of man to say what dream it was. (William Shakespeare, 1564-1616)

I have nothing to offer but blood, toil, tears, and sweat. (Winston Churchill, 1874-1965)

I thank my God everytime I remember you. (Philippians)

If a man does not keep time with his companions, perhaps it is because he hears a different drummer. (Ralph Waldo Emerson, 1803-1882)

If I had to sum up in one word what makes a good manager, I’d say decisiveness. You can use the fanciest computers to gather the numbers, but in the end you have to set a timetable and act. (Lee Iacocca)

I have learned that every man lives not through care of himself, but by love. (Leo Nikolaevich Tolstoy, 1828-1910)

I like men who have a future and women who have a past. (Oscar Wilde, The Picture of Dorian Grey)

I like persons better than principles and I like persons with no principles better than anything else in the world. (Oscar Wilde, The Picture of Dorian Grey)

I live for books. (Thomas Jefferson, 1743-1826)

I live in that solitude which is painful in youth, but delicious in the years of maturity. (Albert Einstein, 1879-1955)

I may not be where I want to be, but thank God I’m not where I used to be. (Ainsley Carry)

I must have a drink of breakfast. (W. C. Fields, 1880-1946)

I should have no objection to go over the same life from its beginning to the end: requesting only the advantage authors have, of correcting in a second edition the faults of the first. (Benjamin Franklin, 1706-1790)

I still believe that people are really good at heart. I simply can’t build up my hopes on a foundation consisting of confusion, misery and death. (Anne Frank, 1929-1945)

I want to emphasize in the great concentration which we now place upon scientists and engineers how much we still need the men and women educated in the liberal tradition, willing to take the long look, undisturbed by prejudices and slogans of the moment. (John Fitzgerald Kennedy, 1917-1963)

I want to know God’s thoughts, the rest are details. (Albert Einstein, 1879-1955)

I wish that I may never think the smiles of the great and powerful a sufficient inducement to turn aside from the straight path of honesty and the convictions of my own mind. (David Ricardo, economist, 1818)

Idleness is an inlet to disorder, and makes way for licentiousness. People who have nothing to do are quickly tired of their own company. (Jeremy Collier)

If a camel is a horse designed by a committee, then a consensus forecast is a camel’s behind. (Edgar R. Fiedler)

If a man destroys the eye of another man, they shall destroy his eye. (Hammurabi, Babylonian king, made Babylon the chief Mesopotamian kingdom)

If animals are deprived of hope … they are compensated by being given an almost endless patience for enduring, or simply for waiting. (Joseph Wood Krutch, 1893-1970)

If growing up is the process of creating ideas and dreams about what life should be, then maturity is letting go again. (Mary Beth Danielson)

If I were a girl, I’d despair. The supply of good women far exceeds that of the men who deserve them. (Robert Graves)

If you’re considered a beauty, it’s hard to be accepted doing anything but standing around. (Cybil Shepherd)

If you have a great ambition, take as big a step as possible in the direction of fulfilling it. The step may only be a tiny one, but trust that it may be the largest one possible for now. (Mildred McAfee)

If you have made a mistake, cut your losses as quickly as possible. (Bernard Baruch, 1870-1965)

If you suppress grief too much it can well redouble. (Moliere)

If you want to see the sun shine, you have to weather the storm. (Frank Lane)

If you want your children to keep their feet on the ground, put some responsibility on their shoulders. (Abigail Van Buren)

In a completely rational society, the best of us would be teachers and the rest of us would have to settle for something else. (Lido Anthony Iacocca)

In a time lacking in truth and certainty and filled with anguish and despair, no woman should be shamefaced in attempting to give back to the world, through her work, a portion of its lost heart. (Louise Bogan)

In America the young are always ready to give to those who are older than themselves the full benefits of their inexperience. (Oscar Wilde, 1854-1900)

In every generation there has to be some fool who will speak the truth as he sees it. (Boris Pasternak, 1890-1960)

In general, in poetry and literature, I am among those people who believe that too much is indispensable. (Yevgeny Aleksandrovich Yevtushenko)

In life you are given two ends, one to think with and the other to sit on. Your success in life depends on which end you use most. Heads you win, tails you lose. (Conrad Burns, US Senator, Montana)

In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins: cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later. (Harold Geneen)

In the final analysis there is no solution to man’s progress but the day’s honest work, the day’s honest decisions, the day’s generous utterances and the day’s good deed. (Clare Boothe Luce, 1902-1987)

In the sphere of thought, absurdity and perversity remain the masters of the world, and their dominion is suspended only for brief periods. (Arthur Schopenhauer, 1788-1860)

Incompetency begets incompetency. The last thing a guy who isn’t sure of himself wants is a guy backing him up who is sure of himself. (Lido Anthony Lacocca)

Independence is my happiness, and I view things as they are, without regard to place or person; my country is the world, and my religion is to do good. (Thomas Paine, 1737-1809)

Innovation is hard to schedule. (Dan Fylstra)

Integrate what you believe into every single area of your life. (Meryl Streep)

Isn’t it strange that we talk least about the things we think about most? (Charles Augustus Lindbergh, 1902-1974)

It’s no accident many accuse me of conducting public affairs with my heart instead of my head. Well, what if I do? Those who don’t know how to weep with their whole heart don’t know how to laugh either. (Golda Meir)

It is a fine seasoning for joy to think of those we love. (Jean Baptiste Poquelin Molire, 1622-1673, French playwright)

It is amazing how complete is the delusion that beauty is goodness. (Leo Nikolaevich Tolstoy, 1828-1910)

//macsman

November 5, 2008 - Posted by | tahukah anda ? | ,

Belum ada komentar.

Berikan Balasan

Ikuti

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

